Hello world!


Well Hello World! This is just an introductory post. My name is Shannon, and I am a 29 year old lesbian that cares about the welfare of LGBTQ youth, as well as all youth in our schools. So many kids grow up living in fear due to bullying-both at home and at school- due to sexual identity and related issues. Many feel alone. Some have even been driven to make attempts on their own lives. Tragically, they often succeed.

I was one such child. I come from a family in which homosexuality is less than acceptable, and I grew up in the Bible Belt where it is often perfectly acceptable to chastise people for sexual orientation or perceived sexual orientation. This happened to me on countless occasions. If I can stop it from happening to even one child, if I can save even one life, if I can change even one law to stop these travesties, I am doing my job. I cannot do it alone though, and I have had some wonderful volunteers that are joining me here to help. We CAN change the world. Thank you for reading, and if you are so moved, feel free to invite your friends, get the word out for a safer, healthier school environment for all children.

9 responses to “Hello world!

  1. I am proud of you for creating this blog. You are strong and intelligent. You have recieved at lot of hatred in your life, i’m sure, and you will go through more. But remember that many people love you and support. Keep these people close to your heart. Fight the hatred. Fight it hard. What you are doing is right. Stand up for yourself. I have loved getting to know you and I will not tollerate such hatred being directed towards a friend of mine.

    You’re beautiful.

    -Sunshine

  2. This is a great thing you are doing. I think alot of times people feel helpless and they don’t know where to start to make a difference. Sometimes the problems seem insurmountable. But we all know that bullying is completely unacceptable. Efforts such as this one will be the backbone of a larger effort to get change to happen. I believe it all begins with discussion and this will be a great place to discuss!!! I look forward to spending time here. Thank you Shannon and your helpers too for making a difference.

  3. diane st.gelais

    change starts with one person taking one step. here lies a great leap forward in the fight against hatred. change WILL happen.

  4. WOW!!!!!

    This is astounding! What an amazing thing you’ve done!

    You go Girl!

  5. Shannon you rock! This is just what is needed right now and you are certainly doing your part to make a real difference in the world. I just wanted to put my two cents in there ;P Hugs & Glitter!

  6. Thank you all for your positive comments! Right now, everything is moderated. Hopefully soon once a few kinks are worked out we can move to real time conversations. In the meantime, if you look to the sidebar there is a list of helpful links. Both GLAAD and The Human Rights Campaign, as well as Change.Org are great if you are looking for a quick and easy way to help! All sorts of petitions going on on those sites. Thanks again, hope you guys become regular posters here.

  7. Thank you all for your contributions to the blog already! It is vital that this sort of issue is out, front and center!

    If we reach only ONE person, we have done our job… all of us, and that includes all of you!

  8. Well I finally made here – love the opening blog Shan, and I have to agree if this can just help one kid, then this has all been worth it. You know you’re my bb and always will be! *snuggles*

  9. Hey Mands! Thanks for stopping by! Hope you and everyone else will be active here! Cannot wait to wear purple on wednesday for spirit day in recognition and memory of those that have ended their lives over this in recent weeks.

Leave a Reply

