Don’t ignore it….


Hi!  My name is Margaret and I am a married, 48 year old mother of two teenage children, who have always been open minded, outgoing and passionate about life.

In view of the most recent anti-gay incidents, I have been rocked to the core… Never in my life did I expect this issue to seemingly get worse in this day and age, and right before my eyes…when I woke up this morning to come here, I find THIS…

http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2010/10/08/7-arrested-in-bias-attacks-on-gay-teens-in-the-bronx

The only thing positive in this article is, the bastards that have committed these crime are behind bars…for now that is…

The above article is EXACTLY what this blog is all about…the sad truth… Anti-gay HATE is an epidemic.  Mostly because of archaic views and ignorance.  It sickens me to know there are people in this world who carry around this hate in their back pockets to just whip out at any moment…  To commit crimes such as the above, turn it into a game of power, deceit, and then boast about it as if it was a trophy of accomplishment, is to me, one of the most horrendous acts of human failure there is.

Where do these morons learn this crap????  Not from people like me, that’s for sure.  There is a ‘backwoods’ mentality that exists in our society that needs to be changed.  This hate has been passed down through the generations and unfortunately taught to the youth of this generation from an early age.  It seems ingrained in them.

BUT, I know for a fact, that you can change the outlook of people through education, compassion and love.

Changing society’s perception of the gay community is one of the toughest challenges we face today.  The first thing we need to realize is this is not just a ‘gay cause’.  Hate crimes, bullying, and smear campaigns affect ALL of us, gay, straight, sideways for God’s sake…who cares?  When we stop looking at issues such as this as just a ‘gay thing’,  maybe we can get somewhere.  Yes this particular blog site does address anti-gay bias, but it’s only part of the big picture.

Hate, bullying, and the like are issues  that need to be addressed by humanity period…pure and simple…no gray area about it.  NONE…its black and white…  Hate is wrong. Bullying is wrong.  Teaching it is wrong.  IGNORING it is WRONG!

If you turn a blind eye to it, you are teaching it…perpetuating it…living it.  Yeah…..  I just said that.  Ignorance is the biggest catalyst there is in keeping  hate alive.  People are afraid…they are afraid to show their feelings, share their thoughts, and afraid to be branded as ‘one of those’…..

Where are your balls people??? I’m not ‘gay’ but I stand up for what is right.  I want the people who choose to ignore things like this to step into the shoes of the people who are hated against just because they are ‘different’.  Just once…  Just one time…so they can feel the the pain, the despair.  Yeah…  I’m like that.

I want these people who see themselves ‘above’ others to experience what the ‘different people’ feel on a day to day basis.  Then maybe they would see the damage that is done.  Be it with words, actions, whatever….  feel it people….  it HURTS. And if you teach your children to ignore it, and yes…they see you ignore these things and follow your examples, well…I’m just sayin’.

It starts at home people…  Teach your children, your parents, your friends  not to hate.  Show them that being different is a GOOD thing.  Teach your children not to run scared from the people who don’t understand.  Teach them to stand up for all the good in being different, unique and individualistic.  Teach them to look inside themselves, to look inside others, and not judge someones heart and soul on differences, but embrace them, learn from them, accept them.  It’s not hard…it’s actually pretty damn easy to love…it comes naturally…but hate?  It’s taught…

Ya know… when my kids were growing up, the word ‘hate’ was forbidden in my home.  Absolutely forbidden.  Using it was grounds for punishment.  No matter how it was used.  And I tell ya what… neither child used it more than once… Yeah… and guess what?

My children DON’T hate!  Hate does not exist in their minds…  just ask them…  What is hate?  They will tell you, ‘I don’t know.’

And to prove my point, to myself, I just asked my 16yr old daughter to please read the above question and give me an answer… and she said, “That’s hard…”  Got a bewildered look on her face and then said, “because I don’t hate anything or anyone.  I really can’t answer that.”

Have I made my point?  I hope so.

I live the words I write.  I live my beliefs, I live my life without hate, and I teach the people around me not to hate.  It’s not always easy, but I do it because it’s the right thing to do.

So…..  What’s on the agenda for today?  Let’s see… I will make it a point to find something positive in this whole mess… I will seek the good in people…  I will spread the word that being ‘different’ is okay.

How about you?

Oh…and this ‘different’ thing… and this ‘gay’ thing….  What is that all about anyway?  I better save that for another ramble…

One response to “Don’t ignore it….

  1. Rise, the fact that your child could not answer is a GOOD thing. We are not born with the capacity to be hateful. That is learned. Your children will not ever know what it is like to hate anyone. Disliking is fine, hating is not. Big difference. Great post.

Leave a Reply

