Yes, I Get Bullied, Too.


I hesitated to post this here, because I never wanted to make this blog about me. But, it is certainly relevant. Last week, I was bullied at school. Students called me a ‘carpet muncher’ in the student center, and then proceeded to have a loud conversation behind me the next day about how being gay is a sin. To top it all off, anti gay religious people set up camp on campus, handing out pamphlets and testimonials in the student center day before yesterday. All of these things make me feel so unwelcome and unappreciated on my own college campus.

Now, the good news is that it is being taken care of. I have my advisor and a member of the school administration in my corner, and they do not condone homophobia. They are also working toward implementing tolerance and diversity policies, and equipping the staff to deal with anti gay bullying. They were simply ignorant of how big an issue this really is.

This is an especially appropriate post as tomorrow is the Day of Silence, an effort to bring attention to LGBT bullying in schools and workplaces around the nation. Please participate and spread the word.

2 responses to “Yes, I Get Bullied, Too.

  1. You know… I was just talking to a gay friend of mine the other day. She said that it never ends for her. People at her work make fun of “carpet munchers,” etc., etc… This makes me so sad, I have no words to describe how much.

  2. She is right. It doesn’t end. And if we want to keep our jobs, we keep our mouths shut, because federal law provides no anti discrimination protections for us. You can be fired for being gay, and you can be fired for stepping up and admitting that you are bothered by anti gay rhetoric in the workplace. Sad, but true.

Leave a Reply

